• Dansk
  • English
  • Deutsch

Wadden Sea National Park

Denmark has designated a number of National Parks, which together include some of the most unique and valuable natural areas, both on land and at sea. The purpose of a national park is to strengthen and develop the Danish natural environment; the magnificent landscapes and cultural and historical assets. At the same time, the National Park should allow visitors to experience, use and learn about these assets.

The Wadden Sea National Park is Denmark's largest single marine national park. The Wadden Sea is especially known for its expansive tidal flats and salt marshes, which are of international importance as a resting place for millions of migratory birds on the journey between Arctic breeding grounds and winter quarters in Africa. The Wadden Sea also includes the Wadden Sea islands of Langli, Fanø, Mandø and Rømø, with their uniquely dynamic natural features: beaches, dunes and sand heaths.

The Kongeå river has its outlet in the middle of the Danish Wadden Sea. With the exception of Varde River, the outlets for all major Danish rivers are controlled by water locks. The lock is opened at low tide, allowing river water to flow freely into the sea. At high tide the lock closed to prevent the salty sea water from flooding the cultivated land behind the dike.

World heritage

In 2014, the Danish part of the Wadden Sea was added to the UNESCO list of World Heritage sites, so that the entire Wadden Sea is now a World Heritage site. The German and Dutch parts of the Wadden Sea have been World Heritage sites since 2009. UNESCO only designates areas that are already well protected. The Wadden Sea was already a nature and wildlife reserve and has an extensive degree of protection.

Nature conservation across borders

The three countries with coastlines on the Wadden Sea: Germany, the Netherlands and Denmark, have been partners in the Trilateral Cooperation on the Protection of the Wadden Sea since1978. This partnership includes collaborations on nature monitoring and conservation.

Trilateral Cooperation on the Protection of the Wadden Sea has also played a crucial role in the Wadden Sea being awarded its World Heritage status.       (Source Wadden Sea National Park)